What does this test consist of?

Our test provides us information on the presence and activity of immune cells which are needed for future embryo implantation. In effect, understanding the mechanisms which cause implantation failures (a fault or, on the contrary, a locally excessive immunological activity which can cause failure of an embryo implant) This test allows us to define precise and customised management of infertility in order to re-establish endometrial equilibrium, and support embryo implantation.

To whom is this addressed?

This is addressed in particular to:

  • Women presenting with repeated and unexplained implantation failures after several attempts at IVF/ICSI.
  • Women with several unexplained miscarriages
  • Couples who wish to use a donation of oocytes and would like to ensure beforehand that they are properly receptive in order to optimise attempts
  • Women with unexplained infertility

This test can nevertheless be performed on any woman who would like to confirm that she has no problem with uterine receptivity, even at the start of a PMA course

What is an endometrial biopsy?

It is a sample of the endometrial mucosal membrane. Using a Cornier pipette, the gynaecologist takes a sample of your endometrium. He will put it in two separate tubes. This very rapid procedure can nevertheless be painful at the time it is taken. We encourage you to talk with your doctor about it beforehand.

How do you test for uterine receptivity?

We do not perform a biopsy in our laboratory. You need to set an appointment with your gynaecologist.  The material needed for the biopsy is sent to your doctor upon his request by email. If your gynaecologist would not like to have this test performed, we can refer you to other gynaecologists who are near to you.

At what time in the cycle should the endometrial biopsy be taken in order to test for uterine receptivity?

This date should be set with the physician who will take this sample, because it fully depends upon your cycle.

For women with regular cycles:

The biopsy can be done in a natural cycle 5 to 9 days after ovulation, or 7 to 11 days after peak LH.

For women with irregular cycles or women donating oocytes:

The biopsy is performed under a “substitute cycle” after at least 10 days of solely oestrogen and 7 days of oestrogen plus progesterone. Your gynaecologist can prescribe this treatment. Oestrogens are to be started on the first day of the cycle (first day of menstruation). For those who do not have a cycle, your physician can prescribe that you take the pill for one month (in order to re-create a cycle), then to start oestrogens on the first day of menstruation.

We recommend, however, that the biopsy should be done in a substitute cycle whatever the regularity of your cycle. In fact, nearly 3% of biopsies performed during a natural cycle cannot be tested, because the biopsy was not performed during an implantation window; patients are then requested to have a new biopsy taken.

All testing starts with histological confirmation of the date of the endometrium, which confirms the luteal phase (confirmation performed by the Passy pathology centre). If the dating shows a proliferative phase or a secretory phase which is too late, the uterine receptivity test cannot be performed, nor can it be interpreted.  In this case, tests are not invoiced. Only the histological dating is billed (if not paid by health insurance).

In this case, set another appointment with your physician to schedule another biopsy.

Must one have specific documents or material to perform a test?

Upon simple request (email), we send kits with the material needed for 2 to 10 patients to the physician (we do not send these to the patient).

These kits contain, for each patient:

  • A vial of formalin
  • A tube of RNA Later (stabiliser and preservative for RNA)
  • An information sheet (to be filled in by the patient and physician) about fertility issue antecedents
  • A consent form to be signed by the physician and the patient
  • An information sheet for the patient related to the mail to send and the course to follow
  • Packaging to send these samples

A copy of the serology results for HIV, hepatitis B and C, dated less than one year before the biopsy, with signature of the laboratory physician, must be provided with the biopsy. For regulatory reasons, we can only test samples which have negative serology results (or on patients immunised for hepatitis B). Without a valid copy of these results, we cannot perform the tests (screen shots of the medical file or printed results sent electronically are not accepted).

Must one have specific documents or material to perform a test?

The kits are sent on Wednesdays by colissimo. The requests made Monday or Tuesday are fulfilled by sending during that week. Requests made on the following days are sent Wednesday of the following week.

These kits are sent free-of-charge to the physician. The shipping costs are included in the biopsy charges which are paid by the patient.

These kits can be stored for many months at room temperature.

How can one send the samples?

It’s not possible to deliver the samples to the laboratory; access is limited to staff and transporters

They should be sent by post or specialised transporters (in the case of patients with healed hepatitis B)

Send the two envelopes as quickly as possible (use rapid courier for biopsies taken outside of continental France) to ensure that we receive the samples within 48 hours.

Avoid sending them at the end of the week or the day prior to a holiday. You can store the biopsy in the refrigerator before sending it.

In the “MatriceLAB Innove” envelope:

  • The box containing the small tube with the biopsy in a plastic bag
  • The signed consent form
  • The “MatriceLAB Innove” receptivity test
  • The order signed by your physician
  • A copy of the serology results which are not older than one year

In the “Pathology centre” envelope:

  • The plastic bag containing the formalin container with biopsy
  • The “Pathology centre” instruction sheet with your address and that of your physician
How much do these tests cost?

The endometrial biopsy and histological test are 100% paid by Social Security (for French patients).

On the other hand, MatriceLAB Innove tests are not reimbursed by Social Security, and are completely the responsibility of the patient (see the table below). We encourage you, however, to contact your supplemental health insurer for any possible reimbursement. An invoice will be sent by email within two weeks from the date that we receive the biopsy. This will state the amount for the tests to be paid to MatriceLAB Innove by bank transfer.

If the sample cannot be interpreted (wrong phase of the cycle, sample too small, etc.), the tests will not be billed. In this case, set another appointment with your physician.

The histological analysis for foreign patients is also the responsibility of the patient, and costs about EUR 33. You will receive an invoice from the pathology centre by mail for this with their payment method.

 Prices in continental FrancePrices in non-continental
French territories and
French-speaking countries in the EU
Prices in non-French-speaking
countries and outside the EU
Prices for initial screens465468Nous contacter
Sub-therapeutic prices372374.4Nous contacter

* The test fee under therapy applies only to biopsies taken with the treatment proposed by MatriceLAB Innove at the time that the first biopsy is taken

How much time does it take to do the tests?

You will receive your results by mail within 3-4 weeks from the date that we receive the biopsy, as long as payment has been made. This period can be extended during holiday periods such as Christmas, Easter and during the month of August (see “News” section). A copy of these notes with possible therapeutic recommendations will be sent to your physician. We advise that you contact him for interpretation of the results and deciding proposed therapeutic strategies.

When can try IVF/ICSI after the biopsy?

The next IVF attempt can be planned at the earliest two months after the biopsy (period to obtain the results + any planned treatment), but must in any case be done within 6 to 9 months after the biopsy : The immune status of the uterus can change over one’s life, and can be influenced by many factors. This uterine immune profile is therefore valid for 9 months in the absence of an event which occurs in the meantime (uterine surgery, pregnancy, pelvic infection). Beyond that, the test must be performed again in order to customise such attempts.

If the tests cannot be performed on my biopsy, how much time passes before I can have a re-biopsy?

In some cases (less than 5%), we cannot perform the tests because:

  • the quantity of the sample is too low
  • the biopsy has deteriorated (deterioration of the RNA) due to a transport period which was too long, or improper packaging, etc.
  • the biopsy is performed at the wrong phase of the cycle (proliferative phase or late secretory phase)

In this case, tests are not invoiced. Only the histological dating is billed (if not paid by health insurance). In this case, you should set a new appointment with your physician to re-do a biopsy after completing the next cycle. This new biopsy can only be done the month after. There is therefore a two-month gap between the first and second biopsy to avoid the first biopsy affecting the second.

En quoi consiste ce test ?

Notre test permet de renseigner sur la présence et l’activité de cellules immunitaires nécessaires à la future implantation de l’embryon. En effet, un défaut ou, au contraire, une activité immunitaire locale excessive peut aboutir à l’échec de l’implantation embryonnaire. Ce diagnostic permet de définir une prise en charge précise et personnalisée de l’infertilité afin de rétablir l’équilibre endométrial et favoriser ainsi l’implantation de l’embryon.

A qui s’adresse cette démarche ?

Cette exploration est plus particulièrement destinée :

  • Aux femmes présentant des échecs d’implantation répétés et inexpliqués après plusieurs tentatives de FIV/ICSI.
  • Aux femmes ayant fait plusieurs fausses couches
  • Aux femmes envisageant le recours au don d’ovocytes et désireuses de s’assurer au préalable d’une réceptivité utérine adéquate.
  • Aux femmes présentant une infertilité inexpliquée.

Ce test peut néanmoins être réalisé par toute femme désireuse de s’assurer de l’absence de problème de réceptivité utérine même en début de parcours de PMA

Qu'est-ce qu'une biopsie d'endomètre ?

Il s’agit d’un prélèvement de la muqueuse endométriale. A l’aide d’une pipelle de Cornier, le gynécologue va effectuer un prélèvement de votre endomètre qu’il va disposer dans deux tubes distincts. Cet acte très rapide peut néanmoins être douloureux sur le moment. Nous vous encourageons donc à en discuter auparavant avec votre médecin.

Comment faire pour réaliser ce bilan de réceptivité utérine ?

Nous ne réalisons pas la biopsie dans notre laboratoire. Il faut prendre rendez- vous avec votre gynécologue.  Le matériel nécessaire à la biopsie est envoyé à votre médecin sur simple demande de celui-ci par email. Si votre gynécologue ne souhaite pas réaliser cet examen nous pouvons vous orienter vers d’autres gynécologues proches de chez vous.

A quel moment du cycle réaliser une biopsie d'endomètre, en vue d'un bilan de récéptivité utérine ?

Cette date doit être programmée avec le médecin qui réalisera ce prélèvement car elle dépend pleinement de votre cycle.

Pour les femmes ayant des cycles réguliers :

La biopsie peut etre réalisée en cycle naturel 5 à 9 jours après l’ovulation ou 7 à 11 jours après le pic de LH.

Pour les femmes ayant des cycles irréguliers ou les femmes en dons d’ovocytes :

La biopsie sera réalisée sous « cycle substitué » après au moins 10 jours d’œstrogènes seuls et 7 jours d’œstrogènes et progestérone. Le traitement vous sera prescrit par votre gynécologue. Les œstrogènes sont à commencer le 1er jour du cycle (1er jour des règles) Pour les personnes n’ayant pas de cycle votre médecin pourra vous prescrire de prendre la pilule pendant 1 mois (afin de recréer un cycle) puis de débuter les œstrogènes le 1er jour des règles.

Nous conseillons cependant de réaliser la biopsie en cycle substitué quelque soit la régularité de votre cycle. En effet près de 3 % des biopsies réalisées en cycle naturel ne peuvent pas être analysées car la biopsie n’a pas été faite en fenêtre d’implantation ; les patientes sont donc contraintes de refaire une biopsie.

Toute analyse débute par la confirmation histologique de datation de l’endomètre qui doit confirmer la phase lutéale (confirmation réalisée par le centre de pathologie de Passy). Si la datation révèle une phase proliférative ou une phase sécrétoire trop tardive, le bilan de réceptivité utérine ne sera pas réalisé car non interprétable.  Dans ce cas les analyses ne seront pas facturées, seule la datation histologique sera à régler (si non prise en charge).

Il conviendra alors de reprendre un RDV avec votre médecin pour refaire une biopsie.

Faut-il des documents/du matériel particulier pour réaliser un bilan ?

Sur simple demande, nous envoyons aux médecins (pas d’envois aux patientes) désireux de collaborer, des kits avec le matériel prévu pour 2 à 10 patientes.

Ces kits contiennent pour chaque patiente :

  • un flacon de formol
  • un tube de RNA Later (stabilisateur et conservateur des ARN)
  • une fiche informative (à compléter par la patiente et le médecin) sur les antécédents relatifs aux problèmes de fertilité
  • un consentement à signer par le médecin et la patiente
  • une fiche explicative pour la patiente concernant les envois à effectuer et la marche à suivre
  • les conditionnements pour envoyer ces prélèvements

Une copie des résultats de sérologies pour le VIH, l’hépatite B et C, datant de moins d’un an au jour de la biopsie, avec signature du médecin biologiste, sera à fournir avec la biopsie. Pour des raisons de réglementation nous ne pouvons actuellement analyser que les prélèvements dont les résultats de ces sérologies sont négatifs (ou chez les patientes immunisées pour l’hépatite B). En l’absence de copie valide de ces résultats nous ne pourrons pas faire les analyses (les copies d’écran du dossier médical ou les les impressions de résultats reçus par voie électronique  ne sont pas acceptés).

Les envois de kits se font uniquement le mercredi par colissimo. Les demandes faites le lundi ou mardi seront prises en compte pour un envoi dans la semaine, les demandes faites les jours suivant seront prises en compte pour le mercredi de la semaine suivante.

Ces kits sont envoyés gratuitement au médecin, les frais d’envois étant inclus dans le tarif de la biopsie à régler par la patiente.

Ces kits se conservent plusieurs mois à température ambiante.

Comment réaliser l’envoi des prélèvements ?

Il est impossible de déposer les prélèvements au laboratoire dont l’accès est restreint au personnel et transporteurs

L’envoi doit se faire par la Poste ou transporteurs spécialisés (cas de patientes avec hépatite B guérie)

Renvoyer au plus vite les 2 enveloppes (prévoir envoi rapide pour les biopsies faites hors France métropolitaine) afin que le prélèvement nous parvienne sous 48h.

Eviter l’envoi en fin de semaine ou veille de jours fériés. Vous pouvez conserver la biopsie au réfrigérateur en attente de l’envoi.

Dans l’enveloppe « MatriceLAB Innove » :

  • La boite contenant le petit tube avec biopsie dans son sachet plastique
  • Le formulaire de consentement signé
  • Le bilan de réceptivité « MatriceLAB Innove »
  • L’ordonnance signée par votre médecin
  • La copie des résultats de sérologie de moins d’un an

Dans l’enveloppe « Centre de pathologie » :

  • Le sachet plastique contenant le pot de formol avec biopsie
  • La fiche de renseignement « Centre de Pathologie » avec vos coordonnées et celui du médecin
Quel est le coût de ces analyses ?

La biopsie d’endomètre et son analyse histologique sont pris en charge par la Sécurité sociale (pour les patientes françaises) dans le cadre de la prise en charge à 100%.

En revanche le coût des analyses effectuées par MatriceLAB Innove n’est pas remboursé par la Sécurité sociale et reste donc intégralement   à la charge de la patiente (cf tableau ci-dessous), nous vous encourageons cependant à prendre contact avec votre mutuelle complémentaire pour un éventuel remboursement. Une facture sera envoyée par email sous 2 semaines à partir de la date de réception de la biopsie indiquant le montant des analyses à régler à MatriceLab Innove par virement.

Si le prélèvement n’est pas interprétable (mauvaise phase du cycle, prélèvement trop petit…), les analyses ne seront pas facturées. Il conviendra alors de reprendre rendez-vous avec votre médecin.

L’analyse histologique pour les patientes étrangères est également à la charge de la patiente et coûte environ 33 euros. Vous recevrez par courrier une facture du centre de pathologie à cet effet avec leur modalité de règlement.

Tarifs 2018 en euros (avec TVA à 20% et frais de port inclus)

 Tarifs France MétropolitaineTarifs France Outre Mer et
Pays francophones de l'UE
Tarifs Pays non francophone
ou hors UE
Tarifs Bilan Initial465468Nous contacter
Tarifs Bilan sous thérapeutique*372374.4Nous contacter

* Le tarif bilan sous thérapeutique est valable uniquement pour les biopsies effectuées avec le traitement proposé par MatriceLab Innove à l’issue de la première biopsie réalisée

Combien de temps durent les analyses ?

Vous recevrez vos résultats par courrier sous 3-4 semaines à partir de la date de réception de la biopsie sous réserve que le règlement ait bien été effectué. Ce délai est allongé lors des vacances de Noël, de Pâques et au mois d’août (renseignement rubrique Actualités). Un double de ce compte-rendu avec les éventuelles recommandations thérapeutiques sera adressé à votre médecin. Nous vous conseillons de prendre contact avec celui-ci pour l’interprétation des résultats et la mise en place des stratégies thérapeutiques proposées.

Quand peut-on refaire une tentative de FIV/ICSI après la biopsie ?

La prochaine tentative de FIV peut être envisagée au plus tôt 2 mois après la biopsie (délai d’obtention des résultats + éventuel traitement préconisé) mais doit surtout être réalisée dans les 6 à 9 mois suivant la biopsie. : L’état immunitaire utérin est susceptible de varier au cours de la vie et peut être influencé par de nombreux facteurs. Le présent profil immunitaire utérin est donc valide pour les 9 mois à venir en l’absence d’événement intercurrent majeur (intervention chirurgicale utérine, grossesse, infection pelvienne). Au-delà, il devra être réactualisé pour guider la personnalisation des tentatives.

Les analyses sur ma biopsie n'ont pas pu être réalisées quand puis-je refaire une nouvelle biopsie ?

Dans certains cas (<5%) il arrive que nous ne puissions pas vous rendre de résultats car soit:

  • la quantité de prélèvement est insuffisante
  • la biopsie est dégradée (dégradation de l’ARN) dû à un délai de transport trop long, un mauvais conditionnement…
  • la  biopsie a été réalisée dans la mauvaise phase du cycle (phase proliférative ou sécrétoire tardive)

Dans ce cas les analyses ne seront pas facturées, seule la datation histologique sera à régler (si non prise en charge). Il conviendra de reprendre rendez-vous avec votre médecin pour refaire une nouvelle biopsie en laissant passer un cycle complet. Cette nouvelle biopsie ne peut  donc être faite le mois d’après : il faut donc deux mois d’écart entre la première et la deuxième biopsie pour éviter que l’effet de la première biopsie n’influe sur les résultats de la deuxième.